Sten MkII finished at last!

Hewligan

After months of work I finally have a functioning airsoft Mk II Sten!!

A group of friends and I decided it would be good to do some WWII airsoft but I was only really interested in being a Tommy. There is a distinct lack of British guns available for airsoft and I always loved the Sten so as I am a model designer by trade I thought I’d put one together myself.

sten.jpg

As we wanted to have more than one Brit I have made sure I can reproduce the gun a number of times. The receiver is aluminium and the barrel and stock are steel but the rest is scratchbuilt then cast in a very tough resin. This means that the worst bit is over and the next gun will just require the receiver and stock machining and the other parts casting and cleaning.

It runs an MP7 gearbox with modified nozzle firing through a modified AK47 hop with the intake turned through 90° and an MP5 inner barrel. The hop is accessed by pulling back the cocking lever, opening up the ejection port.

hop.jpg

It is powered by a custom micro 8.4V ni-mh stick battery held in the stock. The butt plate pulls out when you depress a button under the stock and also holds in place the battery connectors.

bat-stock.jpg

The outer magazine is a genuine Sten one with the end cut off housing a 90 round mid-cap. Hi-caps don’t work on their side but I think the smaller capacity suites WWII re-enactment better anyway.

I have tried to get it as close to the original in size and appearance as possible, the only major difference is the trigger housing being slightly wider to contain the gearbox. I’m particularly pleased with my sculpted rough welds and the Sten Mk II stamp on the magwell.

magwell.jpg

I painted it with a good few layers of gunmetal paint first then with a thin layer of black so I could chip and wear it with sanding pads to achieve the worn and rough appearance of the real Sten. It’s also had a little oil paint and weathering powder to help make it look well used.