Army Armament R85 Warning

action1804

Before I start my explaination for the title, to all those reading just so they can reply saying "what do you expect, it's a cheap gun" i'm not dissing this weapon, I'm actually amazed at the high standard of build campared to any AEG regardless of price, and i am only a newb to this site,this is mearly an early warning of a possible flaw that could cause a catastrophic failure, yet has a cheap and easy fix.

during my latest skirmish i started to get a strange noice coming from the gearbox, hard to explain, did not sound detramentle just not quite right. On returning home i field stripped it, then removed the top part of the gearbox, on inspection i noticed i lot of brass fouling and the sector gear wobbled, I decided to investigate further by removing and spliting the gear housing, to my amazment on removing the sector gear all that was remaining of 1 of the bushes was what looked more like a washer or thick shim, looking at its opposite it was blackend and worn down on 1 side, my conclusion to this is that the bushes are made of a very soft brass, with 1 half wearing this caused the other side of the gear axle to force itself into the bushing instead of just spinning, thus putting excesive force onto it and eventually desintigrating from inside the recese. I would say no more than 2000 rounds have been fired and no burst longer than 2 seconds. the picture below shows uneffected bushes on the left, with the damaged ones on the right.

post-24380-1188256112_thumb.jpg

Where from and when did you buy the gun?

it was part of Airsoft worlds first post mod batch, ie, the re-worked ones, got it last wednesday. another note this is not a complaint thread, AW have been brill with there constant updates about there orders, forgot to say aswell, when i took the motor out the pinion gear was left in the housing as the grub screw had become loose, so might be worth giving it a tweak.