ICS M4 Hop Up

biguk

I need to replace the Hop-Up Unit on my ICS M4. Ive been looking on ZeroOne and came across the Systema M16 Hop Up. Does anyone know if it will fit in an ICS M4. I've never really fiddled with the internals of my AEG's as im pretty new to the whole thing.

What are the benifits of Metal over plastic Hop-Ups, is it just durability?

No, the systema Hop-Up unit would need to be modded to fit. The only hop-up unit that will fit in an ICS without modification is the ICS one.

this is a guide to ICS parts compatibility. It has a short section on what needs to be done to get the Systema hop-up unit to fit. Basically it requires some dremeling. The modification is on the first page, just scroll down until you see the metal hop-up unit.

Or you could buy the ICS hop unit on sale in zero-one.

Product code MA-09

Well exactly....but i was wondering if the Systema one would be a better buy, over the ICS Plastic Hop-Up

Cheers Gigueand i will take a look at it...Thanks for answering my question

What are the benifits of Metal over plastic Hop-Ups, is it just durability?

I recently had to replace my ICS' hop-up unit because I cracked the feed tube by jamming a mid-cap into it too hard. The unit was already pretty beat up, but I was rather put off by the fact that it broke. As I said, I replaced it with a new one and even the new one has some scarring to the tube and I've been rather gentle. I don't expect it to break, but I've been trying to take it easy on slamming mags in when reloading. Obviously a metal unit would stop this problem. It has been reported that ICS will be releasing a metal unit sometime this year, but probably not for a while.

The nice thing about the ICS unit is that it is far more similar to the G36 "wheel" style units than the standard TM M16 units. The ICS unit doesn't suffer from the problem of unwinding itself over time. Once it is set in place the hop won't change on its own.

Anyway, good luck on getting your hop-up fixed.