Bling of the AK

1-hit-1-kill

A little something i've always wanted, a blinged AK.. I have a feeling I will ruin it if i dont ask expert advice first..! so here goes!

the plan is to spray an ak47 gold (or chrome.. just to be "different") i've got a jg ak47 tactical, fairly new but kinda bored of the blackness of it already :rolleyes: . So idea is to first try it on the top reciever (because its most simple thing to take off and use as a tester!)

~ My main worry is spraying using metallic colours.. I've never used metallic colours before so i dont know which one gives me the most shiny long lasting bling.

~ What primer do i use for metallic colours?

~ Whats the best paint to use?

Thanks for any input into this topic :) Suggestions, opinions and ranting are welcome :D

P.S. has anyone done this before? if so i'll think of something else to do lol

• Replies 66
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Go to a craft or art supply store and start looking into gold leafing materials. There are "polishable" metal paints.. but gold leaf will look perfect, paints do look really really fake.. Will take some serious time, but will be one hell of a wall-hanger when done. Then you seal it with a spray or brush-on lacquer. There is also a wax that is used on wood picture frames to do the same effect. ALL this is contigent on the finish of the underlying metal.

Alternatively, find a place that does metal plating.

Non taken :)

Lol, yeah thats the similar look i'd like to get  :P So cheesy! I can imagine mirror like finish on paint is hard to achive but i dont think its impossible, i just thought theres a special way of spraying/layering so make it that colour.. Since there are many gold/chrome coloured plastic knobs and handles.

regarding the colour choice its just purely for novelty/comical value (probably have to camo it up in game lol), you've gotta admit its better than some people with 50zillion add on's to their armalites which they think it looks cool yet functional ;) .