Airsoft Baker Rifle Project finished

FMJ.

Hi guys and girls, I have been skirmishing for over ten years now (since the days of the old blue uk forums) and have always been into modding and cutomisation. Lately I have had no time to devote to airsoft but now i'm back and here is my latest creation.

Some may see it as a little pointless and I admit its not really a skirmish weapon (more of a novelty). But I have made an airsoft replica of the Baker Flintlock muzzle loading Rifle as used by the 95th rifles in the napleonic war (Ala Richard Sharpe).

It is real size and works via parts from a V2 AEG gearbox and TM G3 inner barrel and modified hop-up unit. Other then these parts everything else has been made from scratch from a big chunck of beach wood and numerous bits of steel, brass and ali.

It fires at just short of 380fps with a .2g bb with the current spring and has adjustable hop-up and fixed iron sights. It is pretty accurate and will hit an A4 sized target at 20m with ease.

Just wanted to share it as I am fairly sure it hasn't been done before.

comparison1.jpg

P1171726.jpg

P1171736.jpg

P1171731.jpg

P1171729.jpg

• Replies 67
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Thanks for the complements!

The lock moving with each shot was going to be included but it got really fidley behind the lock plate and I thought it would be too unreliable so didn't bother in the end.

I don't have a step by step but will post some pics of the inside in the next few days.

Basically you take a V2 gearbox and cut the top off of it so you end up with just the section with the piston, cylinder and spring guide. You then build a bracket onto the back of this with the trigger and sear which runs under the piston as it comes back. You file all the teeth off of the piston apart from the rear one which you file to 90 degrees rather then the slant it is usually at and it then catches on the sear when it is pushed back by the ramrod.