Jump to content


- - - - -

AK-Mania


31 replies to this topic

#1 Agent47

    hahaha Oktoberfest!

  • Forum Regular
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,431 posts

Posted 11 June 2006 - 08:35 PM

AK-Mania

They're selling conversion kits and full AK AEGs, but the details shots of them look like the Guarder kits...can anyone check if these folks are legit, and if so, why are they so low in price...?

(if this is in the wrong section plz move)

#2 screamin_weasel

    Newcastle Brown Ale drinker.

  • Forum Regular
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 8,202 posts

Posted 11 June 2006 - 08:48 PM

the way i read the 'About Us' bit, it sounds liek they make the kits themselves mellow.gif

or am i being dumb ?

perhaps they are cheaper because aall they buy is AK stuff, so they buy bulk. i dont know.

#3 Ubar

    Acceptable at a dance and invaluable in a shipwreck

  • Forum Regular
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2,500 posts

Posted 11 June 2006 - 09:00 PM

when a few of us were looking at this a couple of days ago, they look to be guarder kits, and they say theyre in taiwan which would go with that.
probably the factory selling direct or somone other than guarder buying them and selling on


edit- as for them being legit, they seem to have some sort of connection with madbull so that would give them some credibility anyway

Edited by Ubar, 11 June 2006 - 09:05 PM.

[22:35] TrooperCooper: don't be fooled by new rocks that I got
[22:35] TrooperCooper: I'm still
[22:35] TrooperCooper: I'm still a great big fcuking walt

#4 HKG36

    Fusil Automatique Legere

  • Forum Regular
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,106 posts

Posted 11 June 2006 - 10:20 PM

Quick someone order one also what is a OEM gearbox? blink.gif
Also iin the about us part they say they sell it directly from the manufacturer.
Here it is http://www.akmania.com/about.php

Edited by HKG36, 11 June 2006 - 10:22 PM.


#5 PlasticMag

    Regular Poster

  • Banned
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 4,850 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Not Georgia. Thank god.
  • Country:United States

Posted 11 June 2006 - 11:24 PM

Inukatsu is turning around and selling to the public now. Their contract with Guarder has expired.
Airsoft needs more PT belt.
Vz61 Silencer Adapter Wanted!

#6 M0ldyM!LK

    Regular Poster

  • Regular Poster
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 727 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somewhere near Ft. Bragg
  • Country:United States

Posted 11 June 2006 - 11:28 PM

QUOTE (HKG36 @ Jun 11 2006, 05:20 PM)
Quick someone order one also what is a OEM gearbox? blink.gif



A gearbox produced by a source other than the company selling them

View Postamateurstuntman, on Jan 23 2008, 12:38 AM, said:

It attacks sleeping children and sucks them through it's ejection port where it gorges itself on their innocent souls.

#7 nuclearfeet

    Regular Poster

  • Regular Poster
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 317 posts

Posted 11 June 2006 - 11:31 PM

someone order one and tell us if you get fleeced

#8 Shroomalistic

    AKA - Unknown Soldier

  • Regular Poster
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 963 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Angeles, California U.S.A
  • Country:Russia

Posted 12 June 2006 - 01:55 AM

There order now button isnt working yet. It looks like there just starting so give em time.
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

#9 Screwschom

    Regular Poster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 354 posts

Posted 12 June 2006 - 04:14 AM

I know for a fact that RPK kit is the same MFG as the Guarder ver 2004 RPK kit. This place looks absolutley promicing- if they turn out to be legit.
I've killed Shao14.

#10 Robot 2000

    Spy sappin' mah sentry!

  • Forum Regular
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2,318 posts

Posted 12 June 2006 - 08:14 AM

AKS-74M . . .

*prepares to make large for sale thread*

#11 HKG36

    Fusil Automatique Legere

  • Forum Regular
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,106 posts

Posted 12 June 2006 - 02:03 PM

Well at least they use paypal so if you get screwed you could get your money back.

#12 the roob

    Regular Poster

  • Regular Poster
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 382 posts

Posted 12 June 2006 - 07:22 PM

OEM stands for 'original equipment manufacturer'

from wiki:

An original equipment manufacturer (frequently abbreviated "OEM") is a company that builds products or components which are used in products sold by another company (often called a value-added reseller, or VAR). An OEM will typically build to order based on designs of the VAR. For example, a hard drive in a computer system may be manufactured by a corporation separate from the company that markets and sells the computer, or a loudspeaker in a stereo system made by a company that specializes in audio manufacturing.

maybe they are marui gearboxes, maybe they are CYMA. either would be OEM.

#13 SACSlym

    MAASF

  • Regular Poster
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 612 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dartmouth, Massachusetts
  • Country:United States

Posted 12 June 2006 - 10:52 PM

QUOTE (HKG36 @ Jun 12 2006, 09:03 AM)
Well at least they use paypal so if you get screwed you could get your money back.



$175.00 of that order wink.gif
Posted Image
In the North East of the US? Need local fields/techs/and friends? Check www.maasf.org/forum

#14 freq88

    Regular Poster

  • Regular Poster
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 704 posts

Posted 13 June 2006 - 12:02 AM

they don't guarantee against customs seizure. Which means paypal will most likely not cover it either.
Posted Image

#15 thegunrunner

    Regular Poster

  • Forum Regular
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,280 posts

Posted 13 June 2006 - 01:13 AM

I've talked to Taipei retailers and they tell me this site is legit and it is Inokatsu selling the AK kits at much more reasonable price.
Posted Image

#16 freq88

    Regular Poster

  • Regular Poster
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 704 posts

Posted 13 June 2006 - 01:27 AM

Well that's good for the legit part. But no guarantee against customs seizure that will stop alot of people.
Posted Image

#17 Death By Cadbury

    Regular Poster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 630 posts

Posted 13 June 2006 - 01:40 AM

as long as theyre properly marked and have the trades covered, why wouldnt they make it into the country?

gunsnguys for example, has no explicit policy against seizure, but I still buy from them.

#18 freq88

    Regular Poster

  • Regular Poster
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 704 posts

Posted 13 June 2006 - 01:54 AM

What happens if customs changes regulations, becomes stricter during inspection or the inspector is an ass? There are numerous threads on here dealing with these various issues recently. Just stating that a lot of people don't want to take the chance of loosing $400+.

Oh and has anyone been able to start ordering yet?

Edited by freq88, 13 June 2006 - 01:56 AM.

Posted Image

#19 AKRay

    Resident Elsewhere

  • Regular Poster
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 795 posts

Posted 13 June 2006 - 12:47 PM

QUOTE (freq88 @ Jun 13 2006, 02:54 AM)
What happens if customs changes regulations, becomes stricter during inspection or the inspector is an ass? There are numerous threads on here dealing with these various issues recently. Just stating that a lot of people don't want to take the chance of loosing $400+.

Oh and has anyone been able to start ordering yet?


Buy buttons still aren't working as of 13:44 BST.

When the site gets up and running I'd probably end up with at least an AK103, when I have money again.
What goes together comes apart. What comes apart goes back together. Just don't expect it to look the same when you've finished, though.

#20 snorkelman

    Some people NEVER take their hits :)

  • Forum Regular
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 4,211 posts

Posted 13 June 2006 - 03:11 PM

QUOTE (freq88 @ Jun 13 2006, 02:54 AM)
What happens if customs changes regulations, becomes stricter during inspection or the inspector is an ass? There are numerous threads on here dealing with these various issues recently. Just stating that a lot of people don't want to take the chance of loosing $400+.

Oh and has anyone been able to start ordering yet?



Then bottom line is dont buy

To be honest the only trade on any russian AK is a little lightnig bolt triangle or a teeny star etc ahead fo the serial number (depending on which arsenal its trying to pass itself off as a copy of) It doesnt have a manufacturers name or anything like that on it so its unlikely to get snagged covered or not.

If customs regulations in a country meant kits like that couldnt be imported because of looks weight build materials whatever its not the sellers problem if someone decides to go ahead and break their local laws by buying it anymore than it woudl be say a US pepper spray manufacturers problem if a UK buyer decided to break UK law and place an order for their items

He might not ship it to them and refuse the order, he might parcel it up and throw it in the post but either way he isnt going to share the risk of breakign the buyers local laws with them, by covering them for loss of an item in a customs seizure.

Redwolf are willing to do that cos the US market is significant enough in terms of cash it generates for them to be important to them.

It quite possible Inokatsu could do an export version of the gun without the little symbol ahead of the production year and serial number anyway - given thats going to be applied as one of the last stages of the manufacturing process - They'd just pull those parts off the line before thats done and slap a US flag onto them to show where they're intended for. Sorted.

stevie

Edited by snorkelman, 13 June 2006 - 03:13 PM.






1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

Site Meter