Why respond?

directorcass

I have only been on these airsoft forums for a few months. I am also new to airsoft in general. What I don't understand is why do people respond to someone asking a specific question when they dont know the answer? I saw someone ask a question about a gun (which I have) and someone else answered with a reply that basically said he didn't have this gun and did not know the answer but attempted to answer based on what he has heard. I answered the question because I had the gun in question and I knew the answer based on actual experience! I'm ranting I know, but it irks me when someone answers a question when they have no knowledge of the subject at hand. I don't post a reply to a question if I don't know the answer, if I do, my post will say so. O.K. I'm done now, thanks. :Zzz:

This was also not on Arnies but another forum.

Fair point, dude. Most annoying thnig in the world is when an answer starts with "I've heard." I've had a lot of arguments with people when I've asked about a gun and been told it's ######. Conversation then goes:

Sledge: Oh, so you've got one of these. What's the problem?

Muppet: No. But my mate says that those things always suck.

Sledge: But you don't have one.

Muppet: No.

Sledge: Then shut up. I want feedback from people who know this gun.

Muppet: But my mate says... etc

There should be a law against it.

I tend to only comment on things of which I have first hand knowledge or experience...

I guess those who think that commenting on everything are trying to compensate for something, or they might be trying to feel important.. happens quite often in bureaucracies, which also explains why half of the laws out there don't make any sense at all ;)

I spend half my time on here arguing against peoples preconceptions.

I think a lot of people simply repeat things they've heard because they think it makes them look clever.