Eye Injuries

Odd Job

Ladies and Gents

I work in a hospital, as a radiographer. My specialty is projectile injuries (usually gunshot wounds).

Anyway I am not going to discuss injuries from real steel, what I want to know is this:

1) Has anyone here been unfortunate enough to sustain an airsoft BB injury to the eye?

2) What damage was sustained?

3) Was there any penetration of the BB or any part thereof into any part of the eye?

The reason I am asking this is because I was involved in a case where a young man sustained such an injury, and there was some confusion about whether the BB could have penetrated the eye and subsequently failed to show up on X-ray. I have the X-ray side licked (I can X-ray all sorts of projectiles to see if they show up) but it would be helpful if I can get some idea of the frequency of eye penetration from airsoft BBs.

Many thanks in advance

• Replies 67
  • Created
  • Last Reply

a guy at one of the games i attended was hit in the eye when the bb hit his shades from behind (not full seal) and bounced into his eye. damage.. none, just pain, and couldnt open the eye for a while, had to sit out a game or two

the bb didnt penetrate, no permanent damage was done, i doubt there was even a scratch. that was from a 1.3J+ gun i think.

Very unlikely in this country as almost every site has a glasses/goggles/mask rule. Without one of the above you don't play, simple. Those that shoot at home if they don't wear googles thats there own fault and they probably wont be playing again. Also most goggles can stand a hit, however i'm more conscious of a 500fps sniper shatterings my shooting glasses and the damage they'll do.

However if such and accident should happen i reckon a hit from 280fps upwards would totally destroy the pupil, iris, optic lens and the retina. Totally blindness.

A team mate recently recieved an eye injury

A burst hit and moved his glasses, with the last BB hitting his eye lid.