Logo


 
Reviews Views Date of last review
3 25603 28/8/06
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers 48.31 9.7
532chrono-01b.jpg


532chrono-01b.jpg
supersize

532chrono-02b.jpg
supersize








Description: CB625 Chronograph
Keywords: chronograph, combro, cb625
Homepage/URL: http://www.digitalwastelands.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=38
The Ayatollah of Rock and Rolla
 
Posts: 1
Registered: September 2004
Location: Behind the Orange Kurtain, So. Kalifornia.



orca

The Ayatollah of Rock and Rolla

Registered: September 2004
Location: Behind the Orange Kurtain, So. Kalifornia.
Posts: 1,274
Review Date: 10/1/06 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: 65.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): size, weight, functionality
Cons: all plastic body.

I purchased this unit direct from the mfg in the UK a few years ago. This unit has held up to a few years of use and is still as accurate as the radar chronograph at the local airsoft store.


The unit itelf is all plastic and you use a rubber band attach it to the muzzle of your gun. The need to be somethign stationary to attach the chrono to on the gun, so you need to be creative when trying to chrono GBB's.


This unit is an infra red light detection chronograph adn I have had zero read errors due to lighting issues since owning the unit.


I also purchased the PC adapter. This links yoru chrono to your pc via serial cable and will also work with serial-to-USB adapters. The software is available as a free download from the mfg. http://www.combro.co.uk/chrono.exe.


Each shot get's registered on the Chrono unit itself and with the PC adapter it show's up directly on the PC with things like averages and conversions. All logged data is saved to a text file.


Recently I've seen this same unit available at teh HK retailers under the Tasco/Combro name. For the price and portability this is a great unit.

------------------------------
http://www.digitalwastelands.com/random/sig-old/g36c-01a.jpg
Putting my money where my mouth is...
OMFG The A.I.C.S. is NOT an L96, AWP or AWM!!!
rifleman

Assumption is the mother of all f**k ups

Registered: April 2005
Location: Mid-Wales (Llandrindod Wells)
Posts: 809
Review Date: 28/8/06 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: 39.95 | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Lightweight and compact. Accuracy better than 1%
Cons: None

I recently acquired the Mk.4 version of this piece of equipment direct from the manufacturer.


The chrono arrived within two days and was well packaged in a 5" square box lined with eggbox foam. The box contains the chronograph and it's mounting bracket, which can be secured to the rifle using elastic bands.


The instructions were clear and easy to read. The controls for the unit are simple as there are only 3 buttons,[RST]which turns the unit on/off and allows the user to switch between the various modes,[FPS] which sets the unit for velocity measurement and [PDS] which sets the unit for energy measurement (you need to set the pellet weight for this).


The unit allows the user to read the data off in either metric (m/s, grams, joules) or imperial (fps, grains, ft/lbs). This is useful as it allows the user to input the pellet weight in grams (no messing around converting grams to grains) and then switch back to imperial to measure velocity in fps. The unit simply converts from one system to the other.


Energy measurement is as simple as switching from imperial to metric and then pushing the relevant button.


The unit can also be programmed with a maximum allowable energy (eg 1.35J) and anything under this will be flagged [LEGAL] whereas anything over the programmed limit will flag as [FAC].


All in all a nice piece of kit that should find a home in any serious softer's kit bag.

------------------------------
Doing a solo parachute jump in support of Help for Heroes.
Please support me by going to:

www.bmycharity.com/richardeastell
Shard

Registered: September 2004
Posts: 2,424
Review Date: 28/8/06 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: 39.99 | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Reasonably priced, accurate, easy to use
Cons: Potential durability issues !

Most of the essentials have been covered above, but i shall add my input.


Having now owned my CB 625 for over a year, it is without a doubt one of my best airsoft purchases. As a fan of constant tweaking, tuning and upgrading it is ideal in checking FPS outputs. Whether you want to see what performance increase a new part has given, or just want to make sure you have a gun running at an fps level that will be allowed BEFORE you go to the site (and face possible dissapointment when your gun is not allowed), this fits the bill.


Small and easy to use, the digital readout is clear and the chrono can be calibrated accurately for bb weight, as well as setup for your prefered output unit (fps or m/s), as well as other features such as average, min and max readings, all in metric or imperial units.


While as mentioned it can be tricky to line up on some replicas, generally a steady hand or the help of an extra hand solves any problems. While the unit is generally robust, care should be taken to try and avoid any contact to the chrono when shooting through. If a bb does go off line, all is not lost however.


Fortunately Combro offer a flat fee repair service, charging 7.50 for repair costs & return postage. Simply pop your chrono with a note of the suspected problem & a cheque (refundable if the damage is only cosmetic) and send it off to their freepost address. I have once used this and the time from posting to getting it back was only 4 days. (This feature may be only to the UK market, i can honestly remember and currently their website does not show details regarding the repair service - http://www.chronoscopes.com/)


Overall, it offers an accurate and easy to use solution suitable for home use, providing a chrono without breaking the bank like some others available. The repair support is also a valuable feature, as even the best of us can sometimes make an error in judgement and it allows the unit to keep on going, not end up in the bin when an accident occurs !


 
Users 75,702
Products 956
Reviews 1,885
Views 17,808,831

SunMon TueWed ThuFri Sat
   1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 

orca 148
Shao14 45
R22Master 45
Ranger_Captain 37
rallymad_nad 34

KSC Magazine Valve T
R22Master

[ Tools ]
Leatherman Kick
Darthwhite

[ Tools ]
Classic Army Multi T
orca

[ Tools ]
Combro CB625 Chronog
orca

[ Tools ]
G&P 12 in One Pr
slick22

[ Tools ]
· More Items ·

Western Arms Smith & Wesson Shorty-F... 575,708
ARES Tavor CTAR-21 223,382
Tokyo Marui (TM) Desert Eagle "Hard... 206,695
Marushin MP40 Model Kit 155,175
A&K M249 Para 145,424


Powered by: Reviewpost 5.0
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Site Meter