Logo


Previous Product 
Reviews Views Date of last review
5 73941 20/6/09
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers £108.00 8.8
5159tm_eg_m93r.jpg


5159tm_eg_m93r.jpg

5159M93R_3.JPG

5159img086_1_.gif

5159img082_1_.gif

5159050526_m93r.jpg
supersize





Description: An electric non-blowback semi and full automatic pistol.
Keywords: Tokyo Marui Pistol MAEG Electric Battery
Head Marshal @ Tier 1 Military Simulations
 
Posts: 1
Registered: March 2005
Location: London



Basho

Head Marshal @ Tier 1 Military Simulations

Registered: March 2005
Location: London
Posts: 1,484
Review Date: 31/8/05 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: £110.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): No gas, large cap mags, good rate of fire
Cons: Not cheap, plastic

TM 93r MAEG review


NOTE: Click the images in this review for the full size.


I have long loved the 93r as a gun. It is basically a big 92fs. It is like the designer was told to make a 92fs on speed. The real steel version is justly famous for its enormous kick on burst mode and the fact that it is one of the most over the top and silly guns ever.


http://www.outsidecontext.com/wordpress/wp-content/beretta93r4.jpg


I mean, the nature of this gun (much like the micro Uzi) is that you are quite likely to blow your own fingers off reaching for that front grip. Crazy! I personally came to know this gun when I first saw Robocop.


http://www.outsidecontext.com/wordpress/wp-content/lobby5.jpg


ROBOCOP LINK


Old Robo uses a modified 93r that has had a mahoooosive compensator added for that special movie effect. The idea of getting my hands on a good gun to base a copy of the Robocop gun on was a dream. Well dream no longer. TM have finally brought out a 93r MAEG


MAEG


Mini Auto Electric Guns are somewhat of an enigma. They are not a powerful as green powered gas guns, they are not as solid as WA’s, nor as simple as the large AEG’s they seek to replicate. But for all that they are:


1. Fun.
2. A player’s gun.
3. Full auto capable.


I was the proud owner of the first TM MAEG; the Glock 18c and had a long standing love/hate relationship with it. I eventually sold it on with a heavy heart. There is nothing wrong with the neither gun nor concept; I just can’t shoot Glocks for toffee.


So, come with me as I review the 93r and some of the accessories that are already out as well as expound a little on the adventure I had on the way to what is a seriously nice gun.


The Price and Box


I can never wait for new TM guns and I just have to get my mitts on them as soon as possible. Even, as in the case of the Sig, I don’t like them. The 93r was no exception and I rushed excitedly down to Wolf Armouries in Camden, London and paid very slightly over the odds to get my gun asap. £110 cash.


As before with my 18c, I asked Wolf to Mod the charger. More on this later.


The box and contents look like this:


http://www.outsidecontext.com/wordpress/wp-content/93rbox.jpg


http://www.outsidecontext.com/wordpress/wp-content/93rcase.jpg


Very nice layout.



First Impressions


First impressions of any of the new TM gun are always the same. The size weight and look of the gun is spot on. Spot on. The feel is a little plastic for those of us used to Western Arms pistols, and a little creak does exist. However, the 93r pushes all the right buttons and feels great in the hand.


http://www.outsidecontext.com/wordpress/wp-content/lookandfeel.jpg


It is large, very large and heavy in the grip as it should be.


Charging the battery


Listen now to the tale of woe and you too may avoid the same fate.


I asked Wolf to mod the charger. The supplied battery charger is set to US/Japan power of 110. You cannot use this plug in the UK. Neither can you use any old plug adapter that you may have used on holiday. You have to buy a step down transformer that will convert the power to UK standard. These run at something like £17 from Wolf or a tenner at the local electric shop. You can avoid all this hassle by simply having the charger cut off and the wires fitted to a standard AEG charger plug. Then you simply turn down your AEG charger and Bobs your uncle.


Or rather he might be.


I had, as I said, had this minor operation performed on my Glock and it worked fine. In fact, here is a piccy:


http://www.outsidecontext.com/wordpress/wp-content/glock2.jpg


http://www.outsidecontext.com/wordpress/wp-content/glock3.jpg


Simple huh? Well, I turned down my charger to 7.2v and the output to 60ma and charged for the night. Come the morning I leap from bed, and fit the battery.


Fitting the battery


Just like breaking down the real gun. Press the stud on the frame and turn the lock. Then the whole slide just comes off forwards.


http://www.outsidecontext.com/wordpress/wp-content/Image09_01.jpg


Then slot in the battery arrow side first and slot it all back together.


http://www.outsidecontext.com/wordpress/wp-content/moddedcharger.jpg


Total time – 1 min. You could do this in 20 seconds if you rushed.
To remove the battery simply push down on the eject lever and out it pops. I say how to remove the battery because I set the fire selector to full auto and thumbed off the safety next to it to find that when…


http://www.outsidecontext.com/wordpress/wp-content/fireselector.jpg


…I pulled the trigger nothing happened.

Nought. Dead. Dodo.



So ah… perhaps it hasn’t charged correctly. I hooked it back up to the charger and gave it a quick charge (again something I did ALL THE TIME with the 18c).


Still nothing. So back to Wolf. Now, I don’t know about you, but convincing any AEG supplier that you know what you are doing battery-wise isn’t easy. They automatically assume that you blew it up. Well, finally they gave me a new one (and a couple of stern looks) and I went home and tried again.


Same thing.


Now, having got one battery out of them, I know that getting another will be impossible. I realise that the problem is the modded charging cradle, but how the hell can I prove it? Frankly I couldn’t be bothered.


Solution


TM know your pain. They have consequently brought out the PRO LIGHT BATTERY!


AIRSOFT ARMORIES


This device gives you two things. First it is an under rail torch for your pistol (yah!), second it is also a 5000 round battery for your MAEG (yahoo!). A fantastic and obvious invention, this little baby will solve all those running out, swapping, and multiple battery problems plaguing the MAEG players.


Only one problem. The 93r doesn’t have a rail. It has that stupid front grip thing. Cue a purchase of an accessory rail at £10. Then the torch at £60. This gun is starting to get expensive.


Anyway, it all turns up and I eagerly open the package to find another battery charger of Japanese origin. Cue a visit to the electricians anyway and the purchase of a step down transformer.


Fitting the Pro Light


The prolight comes with a replacement for the normal MAEG battery that passes through the frame to fit the torch neatly.


http://www.outsidecontext.com/wordpress/wp-content/Image17.jpg


http://www.outsidecontext.com/wordpress/wp-content/wireinrail.jpg


As well as rubber spacers to make sure that the torch stays in place on the gun. The clip is very stiff. And the final product has NO wobble whatsoever.


http://www.outsidecontext.com/wordpress/wp-content/attached.jpg


Impatient, I fill the thin metal mag with bbs (note none of the 18c ones will fit including the 100 round mag) and try it out.



The Try Out


The most important questions of any skirmishers gun is, does it work and will it fit my load out?


First the torch. This is operated by a ambidextrous thumb switch. It is very very good for what it is. Much better than I expected. The only niggle is that you cannot click it on permanently and have to hold it on. Second, even someone my size with big hands cannot reach the torch and fire the gun at the same time. You will have to use your other hand.


http://www.outsidecontext.com/wordpress/wp-content/torch.jpg



Thirdly, the shootout! Here all the birds come home to roost. Can it shoot? I load up two mags…


http://www.outsidecontext.com/wordpress/wp-content/Image12.jpg


…setup a target using a washing basket, towel and bit of wrapping paper and let fly:



CLICK THE LINK FOR A MOVIE OF THE GUN SHOOTING FULL AUTO!


http://www.outsidecontext.com/wordpress/wp-content/movieshoot.jpg


The target shows the single shots on the right and the full auto shots on the left.


http://www.outsidecontext.com/wordpress/wp-content/target.jpg


As you can see, it is accurate. As accurate as the 18c on both semi and full auto.


But what about power? Well, on removing the target I saw that I had not placed the towel totally behind the point of impact and had shot clean through the washing basket!


http://www.outsidecontext.com/wordpress/wp-content/damage.jpg


NICE! I went for forgiveness with my wife on that one!


Fitting it to my Loadout


I already have a large frame auto on my hip; the mighty TM DE Hardkick. This pistol now has a brother in size:


http://www.outsidecontext.com/wordpress/wp-content/sizevde.jpg


So two large pistols. How to fit them. Viper have just brought out a copy of the famous Tornado Guarder holster. This cheaper model is in both OD and black and can be made to fit anything up to DE. With the torch on the 93r is very fat and unusual in shape. It takes a fair amount of playing around to fit it into the holster, but eventually it goes. I don’t like leg drops so I took off the Velcro straps and fitted the holster to my belt.

Both the Guarder and the Viper can do this
.


The amount of people who don’t know that fact is amazing!


http://www.outsidecontext.com/wordpress/wp-content/viper1.jpg


http://www.outsidecontext.com/wordpress/wp-content/basho.jpg


Problems so Far


The rear sight fell off!
http://www.outsidecontext.com/wordpress/wp-content/quickdamage.jpg


SuperGlue to the rescue!


Also the gun fires similar when empty and full. So it is very important to count your shots/bursts.


Skirmishing


http://www.outsidecontext.com/wordpress/wp-content/basho_01.jpg


Last night I took the gun to a skirmish at Electrowerkz and gave it a full nights play. My impressions are:


1. This gun fires all its BB’s very fast on full auto.
2. BB speed in the air is FAR less than my DE and you can float shots into targets.
3. The torch is bloody fantastic and quite able to highlight people hidden by pitch blackness from a very long range.
4. The gun fires well on semi and the hop up is excellent.
5. Tactically the way to go is highlight the target and walk bb’s into him on semi.


All in all it played very very well. I had a good night and in one game got 7 people to surrender all at the same time! Breaking Situpkings record from AG-05 (nice!).


I also used the pistol in an attacking rush and it worked very well to flank the opposition side by side to my DE.


There were a lot of people there last night due to the Channel 4 Film crew turning up. So things got a little hectic.


Here is a picture of my arm after the action.


http://www.outsidecontext.com/wordpress/wp-content/jameslaced.jpg



FINAL SCORE



9/10! Wow!


Fantastic, TM have done it again!

Basho



UPDATE: NEW DATA!


Quote:
That's no moon," Kenobi breathed softly. "That's a [pistol]."
"But it's too big to be a [pistol]," Solo objected. "The size of it! It can't be artificial -- it can't!"
"I have a very strange feeling about this," was Luke's comment.



At long last the task is finished. The Soul Edge is mine. A weapon of such awesome power that gravity itself appears affected when the mighty energies contained within this weapon are unleashed. From the skies comes the sound of Gabriel’s trumpet heralding the coming of Ragnarog and the end of all things; life’s bane. On seeing such power men of spirit bow their heads in prayer whilst those of lower strength squirm in terror aghast at the great beast that is amongst them. The beast known only as “What the fusk is that thing!?”


In other words: It’s a bit tasty like!


I have enjoyed the wonders of the 93R for a few months now.
http://www.outsidecontext.com/wordpress/wp-content/cutout2large.jpg


It is a fine weapon with many advantages, like full auto and great accuracy. But it wasn’t enough. Originally, I saw its place in my arsenal as a left handed backup gun. A sort of Uzi for my slightly less accurate left hand to use in dual gunning whilst my right aimed the mighty Desert Eagle at my foes. My common tactic was to draw and fire on full auto as I moved cover and thus give myself supporting fire and reduce my reliance on my team-mates. After all, who hasn’t asked some newbs to cover you, only to find as you start to move that they cower and hide leaving you to take the hits? I knew I had. Then I saw this photo taken at a gun show in Hong Kong:


http://www.outsidecontext.com/wordpress/wp-content/pimpedup93r.JPG


I suddenly knew that this gun had a greater destiny. I started out collecting the parts needed to complete the masterpiece and soon put together the following:


http://www.outsidecontext.com/wordpress/wp-content/93rcase.jpg


This is the basic TM93r. It comes with all you see here, which is a battery, the charger and a single 40 round mag.


In order to add anything further to the gun you need to buy the special rail accessory that replaces the front grip. This is an official mod and runs about £10 or less.


http://www.outsidecontext.com/wordpress/wp-content/wireinrail.jpg


With that on you can now add a torch. The best one to add is the Pro-Light as this is part torch and part battery upgrade for the gun. As I said in the first review, you cannot reach the torch with your gun hand. If you want light you have to use your second hand and you can’t lock the torch on. On a more positive note, the torches battery increases the ROF by a fair margin. This is noticeable when firing BB’s, with and without, the torch on full auto but it is not as large an increase as the Glock gets.


http://www.outsidecontext.com/wordpress/wp-content/Image17.jpg
Next you will be wanting to ditch that slide for something a little sexier. The basic slide just unclips and pushes forwards off the gun. TM has just released an upgraded slide that has a full top rail and a silencer adapter. This slide is still plastic with the rail part and the screw for the silencer being metal.


http://www.outsidecontext.com/wordpress/wp-content/slide.JPG


This baby is now looking meaner! The new slide has a larger depth than the basic one and adds a chunk to the look and feel without changing the weight much. Like all rails, it does come with drawbacks namely that the rail adds a rough set of edges that can catch when drawing or holstering the weapon until you adjust your holster.
Onwards! Now the rail is on, let’s get a scope to up the accuracy. I am a big fan of the Walther branded pistol scopes. This is mainly because they are fairly cheap, very reliable and come with a large shroud at the front, significantly reducing the possibility of getting a shot to the lens. The battery also lasts for ages. I personally like the crosshair version because with my eye up to the optic the cross is tiny, but with my arm fully extended the cross gets bigger thus enabling me to aim at both ranges. This is of course personal choice.


http://www.outsidecontext.com/wordpress/wp-content/scope.jpg


I added to this a nice scope mount that I had picked up in a trade. This was from a M4 AEG I had bought. I don’t know the manufacturer, but I suspect that it is the Guarder version, which is about £20. The bonus over the supplied scope rings is that the sight sits a little higher on the rail (good for those of use who wear full face masks) and can be very quickly detached and reached. With a little practice I can attach the scope in less than 5 seconds.


Next came the need for more ammo. The 100 round mag is now available everywhere (I got mine at Wolf).


http://www.outsidecontext.com/wordpress/wp-content/mag.JPG


Its length is a little prodigious, but the advantages are manifold. A hundred rounds are a lot of BB's to be able to fire without reloading. However, forget about filling one without a BB loader! The shape of the mag is a little hard to like. It has a long metal stick extending from a bulbous base, which adds significant length to the guns already long grip. This is an issue you need to think of. It is not any hassle in the holster as I have yet to catch it on anything even in the confines of Electrowerkz. The issue is simply, where to attach it to your vest. Unless you have P90 mag pouches you will find this mag a pain in the ass to store. Personally, I simply use it as my first mag, dump the Mo-Fo in my bag and then swap to my smaller 40 round mags. If I was to buy another mag, I have no idea where I would store it.


Also worth noting is that you cannot use any of the other AEP 100 round mags; IE the Glock one, as they wont fit. On top of this, you need to be careful when loading this mag as it will overload and the first few BB’s will trickle out when shot. I am not sure why this happens and I tend to just give the gun a quick burst before starting the game.


Finally came the bling. A silencer adds very little to an already very quiet gun, in fact…


http://www.outsidecontext.com/wordpress/wp-content/silencer.JPG


…I bought it for one reason, it looks mean! Very cool. The front of the slide simply screws off revealing a thread which fits this silencer on. Note that other silencers don’t fit. I tried a TM SOCOM silencer first and that wouldn’t screw in.
The range of this gun is amazing. It is like some force is keeping the BB’s up in the air and straight and on target. This magical force is the hop up. TM has mastered the hop on this pistol to an amazing degree. Shot after shot sails out across the battle zone all flat and drifting inexorably into the opponents. This gun can snipe in CQB.
Finally, the package is assembled, watch in wonder!
Click these images for Windows-Wallpaper-size high res detail:


http://www.outsidecontext.com/wordpress/wp-content/93rlarges.jpg
http://www.outsidecontext.com/wordpress/wp-content/93rdetails.jpg


Here is the gun firing at Electrowerkz. This video demonstrates the power of the light as well as the rate of fire of the pistol:


CLICK FOR MOVIE ONE
This one is Trip shooting 1/3rd of the mag off full auto:
CLICK FOR MOVIE TWO


So, it looks the mustard but how does it do in battle? Basically, it kicks fucking ass to kingdom come!


I have two stories to tell you. I am not the world’s greatest airsofter, but I do play a lot of CQB and do a lot of pistoling. I have tried, tested and rejected many many combinations of firearms and tactics. I test things under the pressure of the Dark Angels and the Electrowerkz environment. Basically, if it works I like it. I won’t just use something just because it looks cool, it must be a players gun. It must perform. This gun performs. These two stories highlight the advantage this gun provides, and are not just bigging up my playing styles.



Quote:
What counts is not necessarily the size of the dog in the fight - it's the size of the fight in the dog. Dwight D. Eisenhower



The first story comes from an attack to Electrowerkz's top floor. The enemy were slightly newb and hadn’t paid attention to the mission brief, in which Andy (Janno) had told everyone that the game was free roaming. This means that you need to defend all angles and not just one end of a floor. The opponents had taken the top floor and were holding off our troops at one end. I snuck down and across then up behind them. This put me in a position to flank them from the rear. I crept out of the DJ booth and on the floor. The enemy were laid out in front of me hiding behind the barrels. Now, we have all been here and what normally happens is you get off a few rounds into the nearest enemy then the rest hear your pistol/AEG and turn around and retaliate. Not with this gun. I simply used the gun in rifle mode:


RIFLE MODE.
This is when you consider the gun to be a very small rifle. You place your eye right up to the scope using both hands to hold it steady. You then tuck in both you arms to reduce your profile. Because the gun has no kick, you can place your shots on your target with ease. This mode gives the opponent very little to shoot at as you are making the smallest target possible. This maximises the advantages of any cover you may be behind.


Using this mode I was able to place three shots on every man. Two in the body, one in the head. Three of them walked without realising I was even there. The floor was ours and I walked down to my team-mates at the other end of the floor.


Unfortunately, the enemy immediately regenerated and attacked. My team were quickly all hit. I retreated and hid in the tight corridor behind the doors to the top floor. My heart was leaping. I had put myself in a very small position and if this screwed up then I was likely to get laced. However, the AEP was ready for them. Tucked into the small space the AEP is still useable. If I had used my AEG in this play the opposition would have definitely seen it poking out from the doors edge and I would have got badly mauled with BBs. The AEP, although long for a pistol, enabled me to keep a bead on the narrow corridor the entire time without giving me away. Sure enough they fell for it and 6 opposition players walked right by me towards the corner and started talking about how they were going to take the stairs. I clicked the AEP onto full auto and used close quarters mode:


CQB MODE.
In this mode you are up close and dirty. You need to put a lot of fire down onto the opposition in a small time and in a confined space. You are perhaps fighting for a corner, against an unknown number of opposition. Or perhaps you are rushing a choke point and need the round in the air to win out. With a hundred rounds you have a large advantage against normal pistols. Because you can point at anything you can see you can aim much easier than with an AEG.


I opened fire on the newbs and sprayed them all at head height, making sure I got them all and holding the trigger down. I then bolted past them and down to the second floor. The AEP had struck again. Like a garden hose, it flung BB's all over them.


(I should point out that this was “old skool” night and there was no bang rule or minimum safe distance.)


Two sets of newbs owned, and the 93R was still hungry.


Two weeks before I had taken the 93R to the Amherst Tunnels in Chatham. I had never played here before and the dark angels were looking forwards to playing against the locals. Here the AEP was my main weapon for the night and I was able to use it all night in Rifle Mode as a small arms short sniper rifle, placing single shots on the body parts of the opposition that I wanted. Because of the small profile I was able to, more often than not, win any one on one duel, whilst at the same time I could hold back a full on rush by switching to full auto mode and lacing an entire area. It was here and in the final game that the last mode of this gun came into play. The game was a quick turnaround battle where the object was to hold onto the marshal for 10 minutes whilst under fire. To win you would have to push the enemy back and be able to hold their counter assault. Fast play, regen’ quickly and a defiance to pain were all vital. Lucky for me that the Dark Angels excel at this style of play. We were all shouting encouragement to each other when regenerating and pushing as hard as we could. The opposition had enough time for one final assault and we were all pumped up when Andy called the play with:


“Has anyone seen Tears of the Sun?"


This is the call for a full weapon assault as seen in the last moments of that great film. Time for Fire Support Mode.


FIRE SUPPORT MODE.
There are times when one gun is not enough. You need to put the serious smack down on the opponents and simply push them back by the volume of fire you and your team are laying down. This is obviously an Army tactic and the AEP is you friend here.


Quote:
A true friend knows your weaknesses but shows you your strengths; feels your fears but fortifies your faith; sees your anxieties but frees your spirit; recognizes your disabilities but emphasizes your possibilities. William Arthur Ward




I swapped my LR into single hand mode and drew the 93R. I then switched it onto full auto and we were on. 5 DA’s shooting full auto is a lot of BB’s and the AEP enabled me to pick two targets at once and do my part to drive them back. The opposition were totally owned.


(I would add that at this event the opposition were very good, containing some Electrowerkz old timers such as Marcus as well as some top woodland players).
As you can see from these examples, the AEP is well placed to be used in a number of different scenarios where its abilities are powerful force multipliers that enable you to come out on top in many situations. You can use it as a rifle, a pistol, a sub machinegun. It can shoot long range on full auto as well as short range on single shot. So, does it have any problems?



Holstering. There is almost no holster capable of smoothly packing in such a beast of a gun. With the scope taken off, you can fit it in the Guarder Tornado, but it isn’t very smooth to put back (drawing is fine). With the scope on then the professional real steel holsters from Magnum Industries (home of the Desert Eagle) are your only bet. These allow scopes to stay on, but I haven’t tried them yet. I use the Guarder and am happy with that


Size. This gun is large. Much larger then the DE and even a little larger than the new TM MP7 sub machine gun! This is a gun to scare the shit out of your opponents with.


The 100 mags are a nightmare to store. You will have to come up with something clever to enable them to be stored safely


Price. Whilst not stupid money, this is a project gun and therefore a little on the expensive side. Since my wife may read this I am not tell how much I spent, but rest assured darling, it was mostly trades… honest


Here is the gun next to the MP7:
http://www.outsidecontext.com/wordpress/wp-content/93rcomp.jpg


All in all the pluses vastly outweigh the negatives with this gun and I hope that I have shown that this is a gun well worth investing in. A true players gun, reliable, high ROF, good power, long range and pimped to the max!


I bought the accessories from Wolf Armouries, Airsoft Armouries and Airsoftsupplier.co.uk (these guys were very helpful in getting the rarer components and should be your first stop for official AEP stuff).


Q. Why not just get a MP7?
Sure, the MP7 is nice. I have used one and I can say it has much to be recommended, however it doesn’t have the ROF of this solution as well as many of the accessories (such as the large battery). Add to this that they are totally the flavour of the month. I was at Electro’ on Tuesday and I counted 6. This gun is far more unique. Personally, I will be getting an MP7 when the first round of upgrades appears.


Q. So where now?
Now, internal upgrades are starting to appear in Japan and Hong Kong. I will be upgrading all the internals in this gun as and when it is possible and reporting on the improvements in future blog entries. I will also getting a stock to assist the Rifle Mode and will post when and where I find one.
Get yours today!


Basho








If you have liked or not liked this review then please leave a comment


http://www.outsidecontext.com/wordpress/wp-content/DAbannerSMALL.jpg

------------------------------
http://www.outsidecontext.com/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2009/07/smallbasho.gif
UPDATED! Airsoft Articles on Outside Context
The Waco Kid

I'm the only registered Seaman on Arnie's.

Registered: September 2004
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 2,113
Review Date: 11/12/05 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: £109.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Bloody good fun & cheaper in long run than gas gun.
Cons: Not a blow back & very plasticy, but hey.

I would have bought it from Zero One for £95 but AA had some other kit I wanted.


If you want a dedicated cheap CQB side arm you can't beat the TM AEP range. M93R has slightly more mag capacity as standard but can be a pain with holsters (no such worry with the Glock).


Good performance. You really get what you pay for with this gun. Extra battery is handy once you start using it a lot!

------------------------------
"I'm responsible for introducing dozens of otherwise rational human beings to the misery that is Airsoft."

"Dave, it's three am. We're outside,it's snowing, you're only wearing a pair of trollies and half my Pot Noddle. By any chance have you been drinking?" The Waco kid discussing life with his supervisor.

"There's only two things I can't stand. Intolerance of other peoples cultures............and the Dutch."

"A coallition government, basically two piles of *suitcase* that don't mix well"
Cookie_Monster1987

Registered: March 2006
Posts: 205
Review Date: 10/1/07 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: £105.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Full auto, nice size, upgrades available
Cons: Holstering, Semi-Auto eats up battery life

Ok, i've had this gun a while now, only skirmished it a few times, but have had plenty of time playing around with it. it's my main weapon in pistol and shotty games and a backup to my VSR in full day games. as a backup, it's supurb, although hard to holster. The ROF and reliability are fantastic, as it's rarely not going to deliver, and you can tell when the batteries dying, so can change when you have the chance.


Only problem i've found it as the most recent pistol/shotgun night game i played at. Although semi-auto works fine, (it was single shot only) i found that the battery life drops drastically when only firing in semi-auto. I had 2 batteries with me (not got round to a torch yet) and found that after a few games i needed to change battery, wasnt too impressed, by the end of the night i was on to using my friend's TM DE as he borrowed a third batt from the guys at Fire-Support...


End of the day this is still an amazing piece of kit and one that i'd not want to part with in a long time, infact my current plan of stuff to purchase includes pimping this gun out to look similar to the one in Basho's review.. although no sight to it :P
Solscud007

Registered: December 2007
Posts: 32
Review Date: 13/12/07 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Another Fine Product of TM
Cons: proprietary mags

I too have this gun. I recently purchased it used for $40. perfect condition. I have since modified it with a POS electric blowback Auto-9 robocop gun that cost me $25.


Here is a link to what it looks like now. Pictures arent so great but you get the idea.
http://www.wpairsoft.com/forum/showthread.php?t=3326


I even added foam inside the compensator and works rather well as a mock silencer.


I have to say it is nto my favorite AEP. My Glock is far superior, as I am a glock fan. But the Auto 9 does have its unique allure. I dont like the idea of having to buy the mount rail (for the light) seperately. And the fact that the Rail system for the optics and silencer adapter are plastic.
Wingman

Registered: October 2004
Location: Massachusetts USA
Posts: 1,218
Review Date: 20/6/09 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Dependability, Accuracy, Rate of fire and Range
Cons: Power

I've been into airsoft for a long, long time. My collection of GBB's, NBB's and AEG's is extensive and relatively diverse. My collection of Springers is insane (I'm a springer junky) and ever increasing.


However, after firing a CYMA G18c 4-5 years ago, I've become hooked and it's my intent to own at least one of each of the better models out there.


My AEP collection includes, 1 TM G18c, 4 CYMA G18c's, 1 TM MP7 and a TSD MP7. On the watch list is the TM MAC 10, CYMA Desert Eagle, CYMA Sig P226, CYMA Skorpion and TM Hk USP.


Yesterday, I was able to finally get my hands on a brand new TM 93R along with two spare magazines for what I consider a decent price of $130.00. The pistol had full trades (hard to find here in the USA as they are usually de-faced) and the orange paint was just on the tip of the muzzle. A pretty good find.


I've always liked the 93R since I started reading those "Mack Bolan" novels nearly 20 years ago. Great shoot-em-up's and a easy read. The main character never goes anywhere without his and it always gets the job done. Naturally, I gotta have one.


I got a KWA GBB verson of the pistol, and it was fun, for awhile. It just ate up the gas too much and could be finicky in less than ideal weather conditions. After awhile, I just tired of it and traded it away.


When I heard that TM was comming out with a AEP version, I knew I just had to have it. It was worth the wait.


I like CQB and I find that AEP's are just about perfect in that environment. However, I've also had some good luck in outdoor matches and have found these pistols to be, without question, the most dependable handguns out there (other than springers).


In the short time that I've had the pistol, I find that it's range and accuracy are a bit better than the G18c's (even the TM) and are quite competative with the MP7. Plastic gallon milk containers can be hit out to 100 feet quite easily and I can actually shoot individual oak tree leaves out to 80 feet. Inside of 50 feet, the pistol is just plain deadly. In semi-auto and full auto, the pistol is just terrific.


The 40 round magazine gives good endurance and while the hi-cap magazine adds to that considerably, it also adds a bit more size than I'm interested in.


Other than the power issue, which is something a lot of airsofters are learning to deal with by using better tactics, there is nothing I can find going against this pistol and I can highly recommend it.


The AEP market seems to be building quite well. More models are comming out and while they are not everyones "cup of tea", they are building a considerable following.


Next on my list, the Railed Slide, A really good holster and 6 more magazines.

------------------------------

Who dies with the most toys wins

 

 

Have a couple of TM Five Sevens looking for new homes! A couple of spare magazines as well!



 
Users 77,339
Products 956
Reviews 1,888
Views 21,158,563

SunMon TueWed ThuFri Sat
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031    

orca 148
R22Master 45
Shao14 45
Ranger_Captain 37
rallymad_nad 34

Marushin M1 Carbine
Bruno

[ Other ]
CYMA Desert Eagle
Elvis[madPokemons]

[ Other ]
CYMA CM.030 Glock 18
ChrisNorthInGer

[ Other ]
VsTank 2007 M1A2 Abr
Glenn

[ Other ]
MAG AK Waffle 100 Ro
orca

[ Other ]
Double Eagle 'M81' U
CKinnerley

[ Other ]
· More Items ·

Western Arms Smith & Wesson Shorty-F... 589,157
ARES Tavor CTAR-21 276,270
Tokyo Marui (TM) Desert Eagle "Hard... 234,595
A&K M249 Para 180,871
Marushin MP40 Model Kit 165,452


Powered by: Reviewpost 5.0
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Site Meter